Dear Homeowner: 

Thank you for contacting the Maryland Home Improvement Commission regarding problems with a home improvement contractor, subcontractor or salesperson.  By submitting a complaint, you are requesting that the Commission conduct an investigation against the individual or business named in the complaint to determine if a violation of the Home Improvement Law occurred.  The Commission’s goal is to investigate each complaint in a professional manner within 90 days. If the Commission finds that the individual or business violated the Home Improvement Law, it may initiate regulatory charges, which may include a fine or a suspension or revocation of the license.  If the individual was unlicensed, the Commission may refer the complaint for criminal charges.

For homeowners who paid money to a licensed home improvement contractor: Once the Commission completes its investigation of your complaint, you may be eligible to file a claim against the Guaranty Fund to seek a monetary award to cover your economic loss caused by the acts or omissions of a licensed contractor.   
Please complete and sign the enclosed complaint form, and return it to the Maryland Home Improvement Commission along with copies of checks or other forms of payments, the contract, and any document that supports your complaint.  The Commission will return incomplete and unsigned complaint forms.

Please complete the following checklist before you send the complaint to the Commission:

_______
Filled in each blank and answered each question on the complaint form  

_______
Read and signed the Affidavit on the complaint form

_______
Enclosed the original and 2 copies of the complaint form 

_______
Attached 2 copies of the home improvement contract

_______
Attached 2 copies of all relevant documents (emails, pictures, etc.)

_______
Made a copy of the complaint form and kept the original copy of the contract and all supporting documents for your records
Please make sure that you have filled out the form correctly and attach copies of all documents that support your complaint, prior to sending it to the Commission.  Please maintain a copy of your complaint and your original documents for your records.
Once the Commission processes your complaint, you will receive a written confirmation along with a complaint number. The contractor will then receive a Notice of Complaint and will be required to respond in writing within 14 days. Upon receipt of the contractor’s response, the file will be assigned to an investigator. You will be notified in writing when the complaint has been assigned to an investigator.
The Commission is able to resolve many complaints through mediation.  If you believe that mediation may be useful in resolving your complaint, please request mediation on the complaint form. By choosing mediation, you may reach a faster resolution.
Depending upon the seriousness of your problem, you may want to contact an attorney to discuss whether pursuing private legal action against the contractor is in your interest. The Commission cannot provide legal advice.
If you have any questions regarding the complaint form, please contact the Home Improvement Commission at mhic@dllr.state.md.us or by calling 410-230-6309 or 1-888-218-5925 (toll free).  

Maryland Home Improvement Mediation Works For You!

The Maryland Home Improvement Commission (MHIC) in partnership with Community Mediation Maryland and the University of Maryland School of Law’s Mediation Clinic has a program to help homeowners and contractors amicably resolve disputes for the benefit of both parties. The project offers an opportunity to reach a faster, easier, and cheaper resolution to your conflict. If successful, you will save time and money, and avoid the hassle of having to attend an administrative hearing. The best part is that mediation is free, voluntary and you decide whether or not to settle. 

The program works for you because you can:

Save time

· MHIC can schedule your mediation in as little as 2 weeks; however, it may be 18 months or more before an administrative hearing is scheduled;
· mediation can be done in a few hours whereas a hearing may last a day or more;

· you can schedule mediation at a time and location convenient for you; and 

· there will never be the possibility of a lengthy appeal that can last several years.

Save money

· the faster this dispute is resolved, the less money you will have to spend;

· with mediation, you don’t need an attorney or an expert; and

· you will not have to take time off from your job.

Avoid the hassle of a hearing

· a hearing can be a lengthy and frustrating process; 
· the other side may appear with an attorney or an expert; and 

· you may not receive a decision in your favor.

Is mediation right for you?

For many homeowners and contractors, mediation is the right answer for resolving disputes, especially when both parties are able to work together to reach a solution.

What happens if you settle?

If both parties agree to settle the dispute, the mediator drafts an agreement that is

reviewed and signed by both parties. MHIC then closes the complaint filed by the

homeowner and it does not become part of the contractor’s complaint history.

What happens if you don’t settle?

If you do not reach an agreement, then the complaint will be investigated by MHIC to

determine if the contractor violated the Home Improvement Law. Following the

investigation, MHIC may elect to pursue regulatory charges against the contractor. In

addition, you may be eligible to file a claim against the Home Improvement

Guaranty Fund. If the claim is for more than $5,000, a hearing will be required. The

hearing process, including possible appeals, may take more than 2 years.

	


	COMPLAINT FORM

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, LICENSING AND REGULATION

DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
HOME IMPROVEMENT COMMISSION
500 NORTH CALVERT ST., ROOM 306, BALTIMORE, MD 21202-3651

410-230-6309  *  1-888-218-5925 (toll free)

www.dllr.state.md.us 
	For Office Use Only

Date Received __________________

Complaint No. __________________

License Info.    __________________

Expiration        __________________

Investigator      __________________


1. Your Contact Information



         2. Contractor

	LAST NAME
	
	NAME OF INDIVIDUAL

	     
	
	     

	FIRST 
MIDDLE INITIAL
	MIDDLE INITIAL 
	
	NAME OF BUSINESS

	     
	   
	
	     

	STREET ADDRESS
	
	STREET ADDRESS

	     
	
	     

	CITY
COUNTY
STATE
ZIP
	
	CITY                                                                                              STATE
                                    ZIP

	     
	     
	  
	     
	
	     
     
	  
	     

	HOME PHONE
WORK PHONE
	
	WORK PHONE
CELL PHONE

	     
	     
	
	     
	     

	CELL PHONE 
	EMAIL
	
	E-MAIL

	     
	
	
	     


Please circle your best contact number. 

3. Contract Information
	Did you enter into a contract?
	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  YES
	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  NO
	If “YES” was the contract
	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Oral?
	
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
 Written?

	With whom did you enter into the contract?
	 _____________________________

	Date of contract (Month, Day, Year)
	    /     /   
	
	Amount of contract
	$              

	Did you pay for the services?
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  YES
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  NO
	
	If “YES” give amount 
	$             

	Does the contract contain an arbitration clause?
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  YES
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  NO
	
	If “YES” have you pursued arbitration?
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  YES
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  NO

	4. Mediation – MHIC has a mediation program that allows homeowners and contractors to attempt to resolve disputes with the assistance of a trained mediator.  Are you interested in participating in mediation?               FORMCHECKBOX 
  YES               FORMCHECKBOX 
  NO

	5. Work Information 
	
	
	
	

	Date work began
	     /     /     
	
	Last date work performed
	     /     /     

	Did the contractor complete the work?         FORMCHECKBOX 
  YES         FORMCHECKBOX 
  NO
	  


6. Explanation - Briefly describe the facts that support your complaint (continue on a separate sheet). 

	     

	     

	     

	     

	     


7. Affidavit - I affirm under penalty of perjury that the information contained in this complaint is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I understand that by filing this complaint, I may be required to appear and testify at a hearing or trial, and that if I fail to appear as scheduled, this complaint may be dismissed.  
	
	
	

	YOUR SIGNATURE 
	
	DATE


Note - If the contractor was licensed at the time of the contract, you may be eligible to file a claim against the Home Improvement Guaranty Fund.  To initiate a Guaranty Fund claim, you must complete and submit a separate claim form, which is only available after you file this complaint form and the Commission completes its investigation of the allegations contained in this complaint. 

Submit 2 copies of the home improvement contract, proof of payment, and other supporting documents, along with the original and 2 copies of this form to the address printed above.  Please keep a copy of this page and the original of all supporting documents for your records.

