Public Sale

If the vehicle was advertised in a public sale, the proceeds of the sale must be applied  in the following order:

1. The actual and reasonable cost of the sale

2. The cost of taking and storing the vehicle

3. The unpaid balance at the time the vehicle was repossessed

Repossession Disputes
The Commissioner of Financial Regulation enforces Maryland repossession laws. If you are a Maryland resident and believe that your rights have been violated, you may file a written complaint with the Commissioner.  All repossession complaints are investigated to determine compliance with applicable State laws. 

For complaints contact:

The Commissioner of Financial Regulation

500 North Calvert Street, Suite 402

Baltimore, Maryland 21202-2272

(410) 230-6100 or 1-888-784-0136

www.dllr.state.md.us/finance
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Motor vehicles are one of                           the most common types of                                    consumer goods repossessed. 

A creditor may repossess   your vehicle if loan payments

                                   become delinquent, even after one missed payment.  Failure to abide by other terms of the contract may also be grounds for repossession.

Creditors may not use force in seizing the 

vehicle.  Remember, it is also illegal to 

deliberately hide a vehicle to prevent 

repossession.

Many contracts include a “Notice to Buyers” that disclose creditor and buyer rights.  The Notice to Buyers must disclose these rights:

· You are entitled to a copy of the agreement when you sign it
· You have the right to pay off the full amount due in advance and obtain a partial rebate of the finance charge 
· You  have the right to redeem the vehicle if repossessed for non-payment

Review the full contract to determine which  law applies.  Maryland repossession laws are found in Commercial Law titles:  Interest and Usury, Retail Installment Sales, Credit Grantor Revolving Credit Provisions and Credit Grantor Closed End Credit Provisions.



Read all disclosures carefully.

Your Rights Before, During and 

After Repossession

Discretionary Notice


Maryland law states that a creditor may issue a Discretionary Notice 10 days prior to repossessing the vehicle.  This written notice of intent to repossess must show the past due amount, scheduled repossession date, towing cost, daily storage rate and any other cost relating to the repossession which you may be required to pay.  


If issued, the discretionary notice must be sent to you and all co-signers on the loan by registered or certified mail to each individual’s last known address.  
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Required Notice

The creditor must send a “Required Notice” to you by registered or certified mail within five days after the repossession.  The notice must  disclose:

· Your right to  redeem the vehicle and amount due
· Your rights as to the vehicle resale and liability for any remaining  balance 
· The vehicle location and payment address 
The creditor must retain the vehicle for 15 days. 

During this time you may:

· Redeem and take possession of the vehicle
· Pay the amount due under the contract 
· Abide by any other contract terms
· Pay the actual repossession expenses
Important Facts To Consider After The Repossession

Acceleration of the contact balance  


The creditor may require you to pay the full contract amount if the current repossession occurred within 18 months of the last repossession. 

Sale of Property


The vehicle must be sold at a public or private auction.  You must be notified in writing by certified or registered mail at least ten days before the sale.

Private Sale


You will receive a full accounting following the sale of the vehicle.  The accounting notice must indicate:

· The unpaid balance at repossession and the refund amount of any unearned finance charges 
· The remaining net balance and the proceeds of the sale of the vehicle
· Any deficiency or surplus amount and  all other expenses of the sale
· The name, address of the purchaser and the number of bids sought and received
· A statement as to the condition of the vehicle which would cause the value to be increased or decreased over the market value
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Refer to the contract for creditor’s right to repo
Consumer Savvy is Key  
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You are not required to pay any repossession expenses if the creditor failed to issue you a discretionary notice!
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